Town of Red Cedar

MINUTES OF TOWN CAUCUS

The Town of Red Cedar held Caucus on January 12, 2015 at the Town Hall in Rusk. At 6:10 p.m., the Town Chairman, Ron Robelia, called the meeting to order and provided introductions and instructions to those present. Fifty six people were present. The Town Chairman indicated he was up for re-election and that the electors would need to select a Caucus Chairman by nomination and second.

A motion was made by Cheryl Miller to nominate Doug Miller as Caucus Chairman; motion seconded by Andy Gansberg. No objections. Doug Miller was appointed as Caucus Chair. The Caucus Chair explained the rules of caucus and that electors would need to select two ballot clerks by nomination and second.

A motion was made by Cheryl Miller to nominate Jill Haldeman and LuAnn Prochnow as ballot clerks; motion seconded by Andy Gansberg. No objections. The tellers were appointed.

A motion was made by Pete Prochnow to use paper ballots with the first paper ballot being the nominating ballot and the second ballot being the official ballot; motion seconded by Andy Gansberg. No objections. Nominations opened.

Town Chairman:

Tellers distributed ballots and tallied the results as follows:

<u>First Ballot/Nominations Announced</u> – Pete Prochnow, Bob Cook, Ericka Anderson, Ron Robelia, Tom Cook, and Dave Cook. Nominations closed.

A motion was made by Andy Gansberg to destroy the nomination ballots; motion seconded by Mike Prochnow. No objections. Nomination ballots were destroyed. A vote to reduce the number of candidates to two was taken.

Tellers distributed ballots and tallied the results as follows:

<u>Second Ballot/Vote Drawn and Announced for Town Chair</u> – Pete Prochnow, 22; Bob Cook, 27; Ericka Anderson, 0; Ron Robelia, 5; Tom Cook, 0; and Dave Cook, 0.

A motion was made by Pete Prochnow to destroy the official ballots; motion seconded by Andy Gansberg. No objections. Pete Prochnow and Bob Cook were nominated and certified for office at the April, 2015 Spring Election.

Supervisor 1

Tellers distributed ballots and tallied the results as follows:

<u>First Ballot/Nominations Announced</u> – Tom Cook, John Govin, Ron Prochnow, Pete Prochnow, Marge Herbert, Deb Gotlibson, and Bob Cook. Nominations were declined by John Govin, Ron Prochnow, Pete Prochnow, and Bob Cook. Nominations closed.

A motion was made by Andy Gansberg to destroy the nomination ballots; motion seconded by Kris Leable. No objections. Nomination ballots were destroyed. Three candidates remained, and a vote to reduce the number of candidates to two was taken.

Tellers distributed ballots and tallied the results as follows:

<u>Second Ballot/Vote Drawn and Announced for Supervisor 1</u> – Deb Gotblibson, 29; Marge Hebert, 15; and Tom Cook, 7.

A motion was made by Andy Gansberg to destroy the official ballots; motion seconded by Doug Prochnow. No objections. Deb Gotblibson and Marge Hebert were nominated and certified for office at the April, 2015 Spring Election.

Town of Red Cedar

Supervisor 2

Incumbent, Andy Gansberg, informed those present that he will not be seeking reelection. Tellers distributed ballots and tallied the results as follows:

<u>First Ballot/Nominations Announced</u>: Luanne Prochnow, Bob Cook, Pete Prochnow, Ron Prochnow, Doug Prochnow, Tom Cook, Kris Leable, Mike Prochnow, John Govin, and Ron Robelia. Nominations were declined by Luanne Prochnow, Doug Prochnow, Mike Prochnow, Ron Prochnow, Kris Leable, and John Govin. Nominations closed.

A motion was made by Andy Gansberg to destroy the nomination ballots; Luann Prochnow seconded. No objections. Nomination ballots were destroyed. Four candidates remained, and a vote to reduce the number of candidates to two was taken.

Tellers distributed ballots and tallied the results as follows:

<u>Second Ballot/Vote Drawn and Announced for Supervisor 2</u>: Bob Cook, 36; Pete Prochnow, 11; Tom Cook, 2; and Ron Robelia 4.

A motion was made by Andy Gansberg to destroy the official ballots; motion seconded by LuAnn Prochnow. No objections. Bob Cook and Pete Prochnow were nominated and certified for office at the April, 2015 Spring Election.

At 6:55 p.m., a motion was made by Andy Gansberg to adjourn; motion seconded by Deb Gotlibson. Caucus adjourned.

At the caucus, the Clerk provided required forms and written notifications of nomination to Pete Prochnow, Bob Cook, Deb Gotlibson, and Marge Hebert. Deb Gotlibson returned the required paperwork immediately following adjournment. The Clerk will conduct a drawing of lots for each office to determine the order in which candidates' names will be placed on the Spring Election ballot no later than the end of the third day following the qualification of candidates as required by Statute.

Cheryl Miller, Clerk

Date: _____